Failing In So Many Ways

Icon

Liang Nuren – Failing In So Many Ways

Gallente is better at brawling

Sebastian Cane from Eve-O writes [eveonline.com]:
You think hybrids where buffed greatly? Fly an AC-Boat like a Blasterboat, and then you see a real close-combat performance how it should be. Try it out. You will understand why i´m stating that the Minmatar should be made the new close combat race. Aside from the fact that their weapons have more range they already are. And they are the only ones you can make this style of fighting work outside of a few niches.

Heh, I’ve done it many times. Here’s the most recent example:

Last night I spotted a Myrm in Egghelende and Tomin and I went to kill it. We did. Then I was sitting my GCC off at a belt in Egg because Amamake was pretty quiet, and I spied a Thorax at a belt. I figured I had two choices – warp in at zero and have the best opportunity for a tackle or warp in at range as my vagacane might demand. I was greedy for a kill (it was waaaay too fucking quiet) and I warped in at zero. Lo and behold, the Thorax was at zero as well and scrammed+webbed+pointed me straight away.

Its not that big of a deal though, and the first thing I did was prime gunes, point, and put my drones on him. Then I zoomed in on his ship and matched transversals while overheating for my 770 overheated DPS (my skills – 784 max). Tomin arrived shortly thereafter but had the foresight to warp in at a bit of range – and it wasn’t terribly long after that he saw a Cane + Drake on scan. I overheated everything but the neuts didn’t cap the Thorax out before the Drake and Cane landed and point+scram+webbed me again.

The Cane started lighting me up and both of them launched ECM drones at Tomin. I finished off the Thorax before turning my attention to the Hurricane. His shields went down fast, and his armor faster still.. but I still only got him to half armor before I went down in a blazing ball of fire. They instascooped my wreck and fled the field when Tomin came back in to try to finish the (very) damaged Cane off.

The entire fight took place within 3-5km and my two utility highs did absolutely nothing for me.

Here’s my loss mail: http://kb.heretic-army.biz/?a=kill_detail&kll_id=60520 [heretic-army.biz]

Here’s the fit:

[Hurricane, Vagacane]
Gyrostabilizer II
Gyrostabilizer II
Gyrostabilizer II
Tracking Enhancer II
Tracking Enhancer II
Damage Control II

Y-T8 Overcharged Hydrocarbon Microwarpdrive
Large Shield Extender II
Large Shield Extender II
Warp Disruptor II

425mm AutoCannon II, Republic Fleet EMP M
425mm AutoCannon II, Republic Fleet EMP M
425mm AutoCannon II, Republic Fleet EMP M
425mm AutoCannon II, Republic Fleet EMP M
425mm AutoCannon II, Republic Fleet EMP M
425mm AutoCannon II, Republic Fleet EMP M
Medium Energy Neutralizer II
Medium Energy Neutralizer II

Medium Core Defence Field Extender I
Medium Core Defence Field Extender I
Medium Core Defence Field Extender I
Hobgoblin II x5

Vital Stats (my skills):

  • 50k EHP
  • Overheated DPS: 770 @ 1.9+20

Here’s a similar Brutix fit that I wish I’d been in:

[Brutix, Shield Gank Brutix]
Magnetic Field Stabilizer II
Magnetic Field Stabilizer II
Magnetic Field Stabilizer II
Tracking Enhancer II
Damage Control II

Y-T8 Overcharged Hydrocarbon Microwarpdrive
Large Shield Extender II
Invulnerability Field II
Warp Scrambler II

Heavy Neutron Blaster II, Void M
Heavy Neutron Blaster II, Void M
Heavy Neutron Blaster II, Void M
Heavy Neutron Blaster II, Void M
Heavy Neutron Blaster II, Void M
Heavy Neutron Blaster II, Void M
Heavy Neutron Blaster II, Void M

Medium Core Defence Field Extender I
Medium Core Defence Field Extender I
Medium Core Defence Field Extender I
Hammerhead II x5

Vital stats (My skills):

  • 55k EHP
  • Overheated DPS: 969 @ 2.6+8.1

So here’s the skinny:

  • The Brutix does 28% more DPS
  • The Brutix has 11% more EHP
  • The Brutix tracks better, and would have applied DPS to the Thorax better.
  • The Brutix actually has better ranges for the fight took place in.
  • I have every reason to believe I would have killed both the Thorax and Hurricane with a Brutix instead of the Cane.

Long and short? Minnies lack the things that really matters in a brawl – DPS and Tank.

Filed under: Eve, Gaming, , , ,

2 Responses

  1. Serpentine Logic says:

    Those neuts would have done a number on a smaller ship though.

    BTW did your calculations take into effect the fact that your cane is shooting EMP, or did you base it on raw EHP?

Leave a Reply

