Failing In So Many Ways

Icon

Liang Nuren – Failing In So Many Ways

Losing Ships in Amamake

Well, time has passed and I’ve PVP’ed and I’ve lost yet more ships – again primarily to me Failing In So Many Ways.

So for my first loss, a Harpy.  I’m poking around at a belt in Amamake during the early hours of Frigfry Friday and I’m duking it out with a Hookbill when a Rupture shows up.  This being Frig fry Friday, we both tackle the Rupture.  I reload to Void S and the Rupture starts to go down fast.  I’m thoroughly tackled in return, but he’s still going down way faster than I am.  That’s when the Falcon and pair of Oracles show up at ~50km.  I don’t last long after that.

2011.12.02 07:16:00

Victim: Liang Nuren
Corp: Perkone
Alliance: Unknown
Faction: Unknown
Destroyed: Harpy
System: Amamake
Security: 0.4
Damage Taken: 4747

Involved parties:

Name: Sinful Justification
Security: -9.60
Corp: The Yaar Offices of Pointe Webb and Podemall
Alliance: None
Faction: Gallente Federation
Ship: Caldari Navy Hookbill
Weapon: Balmer Series Tracking Disruptor I
Damage Done: 2224

Name: Aguilarr Cokey
Security: 3.00
Corp: The Exploration Company
Alliance: Ravensgaard
Faction: None
Ship: Oracle
Weapon: Oracle
Damage Done: 1664

Name: Hegg Master (laid the final blow)
Security: -1.70
Corp: The Griffin Nest Builder
Alliance: None
Faction: None
Ship: Oracle
Weapon: Mega Pulse Laser II
Damage Done: 677

Name: Peek-A Boo
Security: 0.10
Corp: Brutor Tribe
Alliance: None
Faction: None
Ship: Rupture
Weapon: Rupture
Damage Done: 166

Name: Angel Depredator / Archangels
Damage Done: 16

Name: Starion Azriel
Security: 1.40
Corp: The Exploration Company
Alliance: Ravensgaard
Faction: None
Ship: Rook
Weapon: BZ-5 Neutralizing Spatial Destabilizer ECM
Damage Done: 0

Destroyed items:

Cold-Gas Arcjet Thrusters
Small Capacitor Booster II
Small Anti-EM Screen Reinforcer I, Qty: 2
Beta Reactor Control: Capacitor Power Relay I (Cargo)
Void S, Qty: 414 (Cargo)
Null S, Qty: 650 (Cargo)
Light Neutron Blaster II, Qty: 3
Navy Cap Booster 200

Dropped items:

Fleeting Progressive Warp Scrambler I
Magnetic Field Stabilizer II, Qty: 2
Void S, Qty: 284
Federation Navy Antimatter Charge S, Qty: 1252 (Cargo)
Light Neutron Blaster II
Medium C5-L Emergency Shield Overload I
Navy Cap Booster 200, Qty: 16 (Cargo)

So everyone bands together and we devise a devious plan to kill them.  Get a warp in on the Rook and nuke him – and then work the oracles over.  About the only ship I realistically have is my solo PVP proteus so I take it in.  Deimos, Proteus, and a whole bunch of other stuff land on zero of the Rook.  We get him down to armor but by and large he’s got 7 people jammed out of the fight – including me.  It takes them a while but the Rook eventually kites far enough that the Oracles are able to apply some DPS to my Proteus.  Even more time passes and eventually I die in a ball of fire next to my ex-corpmate’s Deimos.  Turns out I lost Gallente Offensive Subsystems 5 – along with a bunch of faction mods – in that loss.

2011.12.02 07:37:00

Victim: Liang Nuren
Corp: Perkone
Alliance: Unknown
Faction: Unknown
Destroyed: Proteus
System: Amamake
Security: 0.4
Damage Taken: 14888

Involved parties:

Name: Hegg Master (laid the final blow)
Security: -1.70
Corp: The Griffin Nest Builder
Alliance: None
Faction: None
Ship: Oracle
Weapon: Mega Pulse Laser II
Damage Done: 7905

Name: Starion Azriel
Security: 1.40
Corp: The Exploration Company
Alliance: Ravensgaard
Faction: None
Ship: Rook
Weapon: Caldari Navy Thunderbolt Heavy Missile
Damage Done: 3599

Name: Aguilarr Cokey
Security: 3.00
Corp: The Exploration Company
Alliance: Ravensgaard
Faction: None
Ship: Oracle
Weapon: Oracle
Damage Done: 3384

Name: Peek-A Boo
Security: 0.10
Corp: Brutor Tribe
Alliance: None
Faction: None
Ship: Rupture
Weapon: Warp Disruptor II
Damage Done: 0

Destroyed items:

Medium Auxiliary Nano Pump I, Qty: 2
Proteus Engineering – Power Core Multiplier
Covert Ops Cloaking Device II
Proteus Defensive – Nanobot Injector
Proteus Propulsion – Interdiction Nullifier
10MN Afterburner II
Federation Navy Antimatter Charge M, Qty: 184
Proteus Electronics – Friction Extension Processor
Null M, Qty: 860 (Cargo)
Proteus Offensive – Covert Reconfiguration
Medium Nanobot Accelerator I
Heavy Neutron Blaster II, Qty: 3
Imperial Navy Energized Adaptive Nano Membrane
Federation Navy Magnetic Field Stabilizer
Medium Armor Repairer II

Dropped items:

Cap Booster 800, Qty: 6 (Cargo)
Cap Booster 800
Shadow Serpentis Magnetic Field Stabilizer
Shadow Serpentis Warp Scrambler
Federation Navy Antimatter Charge M, Qty: 2005 (Cargo)
Medium Capacitor Booster II
Federation Navy Antimatter Charge M, Qty: 46
Damage Control II
Heavy Neutron Blaster II, Qty: 2
Void M, Qty: 810 (Cargo)
Medium Armor Repairer II

By now I’ve actually caved in and joined Hahbs in Heretic Army.  Someone calls out that there’s some frig at the top belt.  I remember responding with “Its probably bait.  I’m warping to zero.”  Oh man – the fight that followed was AWESOME.  Their frigate was indeed bait, and I sprung the trap.  The killboards say that they had:

  • 1 Thrasher
  • 2 Hawks
  • 1 Hound
  • 2 Ishkurs
  • 1 Jaguar
  • 1 Retribution
  • 1 Malediction
  • 1 Kestrel

We had:

  • Harpy (Me)
  • Comet (Hahbs)
  • Slicer (Mattnova)
  • Slicer (Valleria)
  • Slicer (Hilda)

On the face of it, that’s a pretty stupid way to engage – but engage we did.  From my perspective, it looked like an all out frig brawl at zero in Amamake 3-1.  I got a few killing blows, top damage, pod kills, etc.  Meanwhile I get primaried but my active tank holds up pretty well against the damage.  I eventually do go down after having taken almost 7000 raw damage.  A quick look at the numbers suggests the active tank held for 13k EHP – which is not bad for a meta fit Harpy!  🙂

Here’s the actual lossmail:

2011.12.03 08:30:00

Victim: Liang Nuren
Corp: Heretic Army
Alliance: Unknown
Faction: Unknown
Destroyed: Harpy
System: Amamake
Security: 0.4
Damage Taken: 6764

Involved parties:

Name: Fletcher dale
Security: -9.80
Corp: Sub Par.
Alliance: None
Faction: None
Ship: Hawk
Weapon: Rocket Launcher II
Damage Done: 2656

Name: Sungwukong
Security: -2.70
Corp: Sub Par.
Alliance: None
Faction: None
Ship: Capsule
Weapon: Phased Weapon Navigation Array Generation Extron
Damage Done: 1109

Name: Rosk Volutar
Security: 4.80
Corp: Sub Par.
Alliance: None
Faction: None
Ship: Unknown
Weapon: ‘Malkuth’ Rocket Launcher I
Damage Done: 1052

Name: Blacky Sheaperd
Security: 2.00
Corp: Sub Par.
Alliance: None
Faction: None
Ship: Rifter
Weapon: Rifter
Damage Done: 1015

Name: Certain Risk (laid the final blow)
Security: 2.70
Corp: Sub Par.
Alliance: None
Faction: None
Ship: Retribution
Weapon: Medium Pulse Laser II
Damage Done: 932

Name: WookieBomb
Security: 0.60
Corp: Sub Par.
Alliance: None
Faction: None
Ship: Malediction
Weapon: Warp Disruptor II
Damage Done: 0

Destroyed items:

Cold-Gas Arcjet Thrusters
Small Capacitor Booster II
Small Anti-EM Screen Reinforcer I, Qty: 2
Magnetic Field Stabilizer II, Qty: 2
Federation Navy Antimatter Charge S, Qty: 904 (Cargo)
Null S, Qty: 1000 (Cargo)
Light Neutron Blaster II, Qty: 3
Federation Navy Antimatter Charge S, Qty: 62
Navy Cap Booster 400 (Cargo)
Modulated Strip Miner II (Cargo)

Dropped items:

Survey Scanner II (Cargo)
Fleeting Progressive Warp Scrambler I
Navy Cap Booster 400
Void S, Qty: 976 (Cargo)
Expanded Cargohold II (Cargo)
Light Neutron Blaster II
Federation Navy Antimatter Charge S, Qty: 62
Medium C5-L Emergency Shield Overload I

But the fight’s not over – no sooner than we finish that skirmish than a Hurricane warps in.  Of course, we tackle that since we lost a Slicer and my Harpy and in comes an Abaddon and Domi.  I ask on vent if anyone has a ship I can borrow – anything will do because I can literally fly it all, and Ahrieman has a Cyclone.  So I take it.

Turns out that the Domi and Abaddon lock me up straight away and they’re just applying too much DPS for me to pull range with the AB.  So, I get right up on the Abaddon’s face and overload the shield booster.  I take 33k damage before going down in yet another blazing ball of flame.  From the looks of it I took 23.7k shield damage and the active tank held out for 72k EHP.  The fight escalated from there to be pretty wild indeed – 4-5 battleships and a similar amount of HACs and Recons and Logis.  We did hold the field in the end so it was actually ISK positive even for me. 🙂

The lossmail:

2011.12.03 08:35

Victim: Liang Nuren
Corp: Heretic Army
Alliance: None
Faction: None
Destroyed: Cyclone
System: Amamake
Security: 0.4
Damage Taken: 32879

Involved parties:

Name: smiling assassin (laid the final blow)
Security: 0.7
Corp: Berserker Corp
Alliance: None
Faction: None
Ship: Abaddon
Weapon: Mega Pulse Laser II
Damage Done: 20064

Name: Viper Serenity2
Security: 0.8
Corp: Ray of Matar Assembly
Alliance: None
Faction: None
Ship: Dominix
Weapon: Ogre II
Damage Done: 12815

Destroyed items:

Republic Fleet Phased Plasma M, Qty: 250
220mm Vulcan AutoCannon II, Qty: 4
Invulnerability Field II
Y-S8 Hydrocarbon Afterburners
Faint Epsilon Warp Scrambler I
Medium Electrochemical Capacitor Booster I
Co-Processor II
Standard Blue Pill Booster (Cargo)
Torrent Assault Missile, Qty: 340 (Cargo)
Republic Fleet Phased Plasma M, Qty: 210 (Cargo)
Medium Core Defence Capacitor Safeguard I, Qty: 2
Medium Core Defence Operational Solidifier I
Warrior II, Qty: 8 (Drone Bay)

Dropped items:

220mm Vulcan AutoCannon II
Republic Fleet Phased Plasma M, Qty: 402
X-Large C5-L Emergency Shield Overload I
Gyrostabilizer II
Damage Control II
Cap Booster 800, Qty: 11 (Cargo)
Barrage M, Qty: 1000 (Cargo)

All things considered, I’ve been really enjoying myself out here in Amamake – despite my recent losses.  Basilisk, Harpy, Proteus, Harpy, Cyclone – I’ve lost more in the last two weeks than in the previous year.

But such is life.

Filed under: Eve, Gaming, , , ,

3 Responses

  1. Serpentine Logic says:

    Didn’t know you were unbanned?

    gj gj

    • Liang Nuren says:

      Yeah, that happened shortly before I published “Crucible is like a Marriage”. I knew I had been unbanned shortly after my initial ban – but some time after that it looks like I may have been banned again.

      At any rate, I sent an email to support and GM Lelouch got me through the resub process unmolested.

      I’ve really been enjoying Crucible – its definitely one of the best expansions I’ve seen in an MMO.

      • Serpentine Logic says:

        First Helicity, now you. What’s next? Community moderator of Ships and Modules?

        (only half joking)

Leave a Reply

