Failing In So Many Ways

Icon

Liang Nuren – Failing In So Many Ways

A Night with Heretics

This weekend has been a weekend to remember.  I got into the SWTOR beta, and spent a fair amount of time playing that.  By Sunday I was definitely looking forward to some Eve and so I turned off SWTOR for some low sec PVP action.  I have been basing out of Minmatar low sec for literally years and the only surviving corp mate I have is in Heretic Army – so I head on over to Amamake in an Arazu while simultaneously sending an alt to fetch my Basilisk from Amarr low sec.

It wasn’t long before the call came that there was a smallish frit fleet at the sun, and we came away with a Jag.  After that there was some sort of small frig fleet at Belt 1 and Hahbs is killing a Rifter and calls for more points.  I arrive on grid shortly before 10-15 Amarr militia members.  Fortunately I’m in an Arazu so I cloak up and we skate away with having swallowed the bait.  Some time passed and my Basilisk arrived.

My Basilisk (Death Trap) is fit as follows (EFT stats):

[Basilisk, Solo Basilisk]
Beta Reactor Control: Capacitor Power Relay I
Beta Reactor Control: Capacitor Power Relay I

10MN Afterburner II
Pith C-Type Large Shield Booster
Invulnerability Field II
Invulnerability Field II
Cap Recharger II

Large S95a Partial Shield Transporter
Large S95a Partial Shield Transporter
Large S95a Partial Shield Transporter
Large S95a Partial Shield Transporter
Large S95a Partial Shield Transporter
Improved Cloaking Device II

Medium Capacitor Control Circuit II
Medium Capacitor Control Circuit II

Hornet EC-300 x5

So we camp the Osoggur gate for a little while and get a few kills (1, 2, 3) and miss a great many others (shuttles, frigs, and pods mostly).  Conversations range from talking about ancient history to the upcoming Crucible patch.  Eventually someone interrupted us with exciting news – a Rupture is in Auga heading to the Amamake gate!  We manage to warp in time and scoop him up.  This is fantastic – we’re finally moving around!  Sadly, it didn’t last long and before I knew it we were back at the Osoggur gate.  With 17000 people online right then it was probably about as good as we’re going to find.  I take to watching PVP videos on youtube while the Heretics talk amongst themselves.  A few more shuttles, frigs, pods, and cloaky ships go by and even 2500 scan res doesn’t seem to be able to catch them.  Finally we get news of 3 frigs – Purifier, Cormorant, and Dramiel (I think) on the other side of the gate.  The Purifier jumps through and we offer to pay him 5M to tell his buddies its clear.

After some dickering he seems to accept the 5M offer and asks if Heretics are recruiting.  They pass him the recruitment thread and in come his buddies.  A while later, there’s an amusing diversion with a sniping Apoc that took a pass at my Basilisk.  Sadly we didn’t quite catch him before he realized shooting the Basi – even with sentry support – was a lesson in futility.  We got   Several more kills before it was time for bed for most of us.  So the camp disperses and I head home – scouted by a friendly Tengu.

The first several jumps are totally boring, as I’ve come to expect during this timezone.  Dal, Hofjaldgund, and Eszur are as empty as usual.  However, it turns out that there’s a Cynabal on the Frerstorn gate in Eszur.  I’ve still got a GCC and so I have a choice – try to blow through him or detour around.  The other side of the gate’s clear so I go for it and try to get him to aggress first.  He doesn’t buy it and I jump at half shields confident I can tank him on the other side.

So I jump through to a Hurricane.  Whoops.  I overheat my mids but its just not enough to save me from my fate and I lose my first ship in quite some time.  I bail with my pod (its virtually impossible to lose one in low sec) and congratulate them on the kill.  Looking back, I had several options to save my Basilisk.  I could have simply not jumped a gate camp, aligned out and forced the Cynabal to aggress, or even made use of the cloak once I knew things were going to go south.  It’s always a little frustrating to know that you fucked up and lost a ship.

Its really hard to know how many kills that Basilisk has been responsible for because I deliberately eschew being on killmails.  Its certainly something in the high hundreds and probably well above a thousand.  There was even a bit of discussion throughout the night of the impossible victories won purely because of me flying that ship.  Since I figured out how to make ISK in Eve, I don’t worry too much about losses anymore and this is hardly the first faction/deadspace fit Logi I’ve lost.  Still,  this one is kinda sad because its the ship I really wanted to fly when I returned to Eve.  I guess that leaves me with the task of going to pick up a new one in the near future.

2011.11.28 09:43:00

Victim: Liang Nuren
Corp: Perkone
Alliance: Unknown
Faction: Unknown
Destroyed: Basilisk
System: Frerstorn
Security: 0.3
Damage Taken: 6567

Involved parties:

Name: Draggston
Security: -8.1
Corp: I See You…
Alliance: NONE
Faction: Minmatar Republic
Ship: Cynabal
Weapon: Cynabal
Damage Done: 2781

Name: Andrusza (laid the final blow)
Security: -7.4
Corp: Mothra inc
Alliance: NONE
Faction: Minmatar Republic
Ship: Hurricane
Weapon: 425mm AutoCannon II
Damage Done: 2221

Name: Minmatar Sentry Gun / Republic Fleet
Damage Done: 1565

Destroyed items:

Hornet EC-300, Qty: 2 (Drone Bay)
Invulnerability Field II
Y-S8 Hydrocarbon I Afterburners
Medium Capacitor Control Circuit II, Qty: 2
Lustering Alloy (Cargo)
Lucent Compound, Qty: 6 (Cargo)
Improved Cloaking Device II
Cap Recharger II
Motley Compound, Qty: 3 (Cargo)
Sheen Compound, Qty: 7 (Cargo)
Large S95a Partial Shield Transporter, Qty: 4
Beta Reactor Control: Capacitor Power Relay I

Dropped items:

Gleaming Alloy, Qty: 7 (Cargo)
Hornet EC-300, Qty: 2 (Drone Bay)
Invulnerability Field II
Dark Compound, Qty: 3 (Cargo)
Precious Alloy, Qty: 10 (Cargo)
Large S95a Partial Shield Transporter
Pith C-Type Large Shield Booster
Beta Reactor Control: Capacitor Power Relay I

Addendum: I have placed buy orders for my new Basilisk and my killers were kind enough to put the booster up for sale for a fair price in the system I lost it in.  Snatched that up to save me a trip to Jita.  \o/

Filed under: Eve, Gaming, ,

2 Responses

  1. Guido says:

    “…Since I figured out how to make ISK in Eve”

    LOL – really? hahaha

    • Liang Nuren says:

      Well, yes. It helps to remember that people have different temperaments. There are an almost arbitrary number of ways to make ISK, but only some of them may be bearable in the long term.

      For instance, I really really don’t like mission running despite the fact I was able to crank out 60-100m ISK/hr doing it.

Leave a Reply

