Failing In So Many Ways

Icon

Liang Nuren – Failing In So Many Ways

The Tier System

NOTE: I rescued this from my previous blog by using my phone.  Sorry to everyone that commented there, but I couldn’t rescue comments too.

You ever wonder why more people don’t fly Omens, Feroxes, and Breachers? Well, the answer is pretty simple: the tier system. It’s one of the greatest evils in Eve, because it arbitrarily prevents certain roles from being fulfilled. My absolute favorite example of this is the “T1 Amarr Gank Cruiser” – the Omen.

But, the Omen is a steaming pile of garbage because it’s missing a slot (vs the Tier 3 cruisers) and has absolutely abysmal fittings. Furthermore, this is the primary reason that Amarr T1 cruisers simply *suck*.

Normally I would suggest abolishing the Tier system, but I understand that’s a bit ambitious for today. Instead, I think I could temporarily settle for ~320 more grid and ~50 more CPU. That would let this fit:

[Omen, New Setup 2]
1600mm Reinforced Steel Plates II
Energized Adaptive Nano Membrane II
Damage Control II
Heat Sink II
Heat Sink II

Y-T8 Overcharged Hydrocarbon I Microwarpdrive
Warp Disruptor II
Small Capacitor Booster II, Cap Booster 200

Focused Medium Pulse Laser II, Imperial Navy Multifrequency M
Focused Medium Pulse Laser II, Imperial Navy Multifrequency M
Focused Medium Pulse Laser II, Imperial Navy Multifrequency M
Focused Medium Pulse Laser II, Imperial Navy Multifrequency M
Focused Medium Pulse Laser II, Imperial Navy Multifrequency M

Medium Trimark Armor Pump I
Medium Trimark Armor Pump I
Medium Trimark Armor Pump I

Reminds me a lot of the Rupture, but missing a slot. But, not to worry – I desire similar things for the Caracal and other ships that artificially lack fittings.

Filed under: Eve

Leave a Reply

